Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

This is a bit unusual for us.  We don’t normally talk about “major” music news.  It’s almost too difficult to even write this.  Been at a loss of words most of this morning.  If you are unaware, David Bowie has died.  Just a few days removed from his 69th birthday and the release of his 25th studio album, Blackstar.  There was never a rockstar like him and there never will be again.  He was a one of a kind man and talent.

He was born January 8th, 1947 in London.  He changed his name in 1966 after the band The Monkees became popular.  Their drummer was named Davey Jones.  Bowies breakthrough came in 1972, with the classic album The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders From Mars, an album that infused many different styles and created the memorable character “Ziggy”.

David-Bowie-ziggy-stardust

It was three years later that he really achieved success in America, with the album “Young Americans.”  He went on to have a long, illustrious career, not only in music, but also as an actor.  This article isn’t going to be a biography though.  This is just us expressing our feelings and what he meant to us.

_87601830_bowie_include

David Bowie was more than just an entertainer to a lot of us.  He was a constant force in a lot of our lives.  Many of us grew up watching him in movies, spinning his vinyls, putting his posters on our walls.  Many of us listened to his music in times of hardship in our lives.  He transported us out of our situations and into different worlds where anything was possible.  I, myself, started listening to Bowie at a very young age.  He was different than the music others my age listened to.  He was a constant reminder to me that I did not need to fit in to a mold that was often expected.  He has helped me live my life as I do now.  That I could stray from what is considered a normal path in life and still find happiness and success doing what I love and being who I am.

david_bowie

David Bowie was more than just inspiration to me.  Not only did he inspire generations of musicians, he also helped inspire generations of artists, fashion designers and inspire the way people chose to live their lives.

This morning I woke up to the news, in shock and denial.  However I have seen many good quotes on my Facebook timeline this morning.  I’d like to share some of those:

Anyone who knows me well knows that David Bowie is one of my musical idols. I just heard of his death and it hit me like a ton of bricks to the crown jewels. His most recent album that just came out the other day was his best release in years and I loved virtually every aspect about it. The world lost a great artist today. With all these great people dropping the mic on their way to the beyond, there’s nothing else to do but pick it up and continue feeding their legacy. R.I.P. David Bowie. Thank you for teaching me to never be afraid to explore and innovate my art. The Thin White Duke has left the station.
– Armando Flores Jr.

 

I can’t tell you how many times in my life Bowie was there for me. Truly an artist and an inspiration. A true original who left a legacy of music, art and of course FASHION my favorite song…..RIP you space alien.

-Bjorn Olaf Nasett

 

Have a phenomenal time with the starman, Bowie. You’ll never truly die.

-Lydia Liza

Bowie was an influence to people in all walks of life.  I know people from all over the world whom he inspired, all races, all religions.  From metal heads to the hip hop crowd.

I don’t want to drag this out, so much could be said and written about David Bowie.  How can I tell you something you don’t already know though?  I’m truly still at a loss for words.

Until the very end, Bowie was an artist through and through.  He left us a gentleman, an artist, a genius and left us with his dignity.

Do you have any Bowie memories or thoughts you would like to share.  Leave some comments below.

tumblr_mhrpiapeXw1rr5ifzo1_r1_500

 

