Tags

, , , ,

i-never-arrived-cover

On “I Never Arrived”, Galapaghost channels the spirit of Iron & Wine with a touch of Sufjan Stevens. This joint effort between Casey Chandler & part-time member Federico Puttilli echoes the nostalgia of traveling and finding comfort in the uncomfortable. Reviewing this release was really hard for me because while I really enjoyed it, certain songs were frustrating for me to listen to.

The music arrangements are gorgeous and definitely the highlight of the album – the pinnacle point of the album being “The Secrets Our Body Keeps”. Casey Chandler’s voice cries and quivers with damn near perfection but some songs did wear on me such as “Vitamin D” (although I can’t fault the musical arrangement of it, more so just the plainness of the lyrics). The album being a standard twelve tracks long is filled with a decent amount highlights such as “Science of Lovers”, “Salt Lake City”, the titular track “I Never Arrived”, “The Secrets Our Body Keeps”, and “Goodbye (My Visa Arrived)”. I felt the lyrics of some of the other songs were a little too rudimentary for my taste, but I’m a stickler for lyrics and will admit that I am sometimes too hard to please in that territory.

My favorite part of this album is that it is seemingly about a journey and it’s biggest accomplishment is that once it’s done, you feel as if you went on that journey with Casey. My biggest complaint is that rather than this journey being filled to the brim with the nostalgia and sense of wonder like with the stronger tracks, you hit a lot of empty pit stops with its filler tracks. I think that this release would have been a lot stronger as an EP but I enjoyed a good amount of it regardless and think it’s worth checking out if you dig acts like Iron & Wine, Sufjan Stevens, Midlake, Espers, Low Roar, and Simon & Garfunkel. You can purchase/listen to “I Never Arrived” at:

Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/caseynchandler/sets/galapaghost-i-never-arrived

Bandcamp: https://gpghost.bandcamp.com/album/i-never-arrived

Spotify: https://play.spotify.com/album/32EiKVZPu1OwcJfwh6c2es

